Home/Cremation Diamonds from Ashes/4Cs

Memorial Diamond 4Cs

Here we explain the “4C’s” – color, cut, clarity, and carat weight – which are the most important principles to consider when ordering a diamond.

In 1953 the 4C’s became the international standard for diamond grading. As created by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), the diamond standard was established as a universal system for grading a diamond’s quality and its value, helping customers compare diamonds of different prices.

Memorial cremation diamonds are genuine diamonds. They can also be graded by GIA under the authentic 4C’s standards. Nevertheless, there is still more to learn about what’s special about making diamonds out of ashes and the 4C’s.


The natural color of memorial cremation diamonds is yellow. This is due to the presence of other elements such as nitrogen inside the human body and occurs in any process making diamonds out of ashes.

A natural yellow diamond can be priced at 3 to 5 times that of a colorless diamond. Conversely, a colorless memorial diamond is costlier than a yellow memorial diamond because it takes a lot of additional work purifying and removing elements such as nitrogen or boron which occur when turning ashes into diamonds.

Because it is affected by the individual elements inside each ordered diamond, the color of every EverDear & Co. diamond is unique. When making diamonds out of ashes, these colors fall mostly between “Fancy Light” and “Fancy Vivid”.

EverDear & Co. does not add any additional elements during the production process, which makes your diamonds more natural and completely unique.


Clarity measures the tiny inclusions found in diamonds, such as carbon needles, clouds, pinpoints, and knots.

When making diamonds out of ashes and hair, natural substances and elements from these human remains may also exist in the final cremation diamond.

Most EverDear & Co. memorial diamonds are “VS” or “VVS” grade (Very, Very Slightly Included). This means no internal inclusions can be seen without the help of a magnification lens. When turning ashes into diamonds of larger sizes, these may have slightly more inclusions than the standard sizes.

Flawless, internally flawless
Very very slightly included
VS1 & VS2
Very slightly included
SI1, SI2, & SI3
Slightly included
I1, I2, &I3


The cut of a diamond determines its brilliance and sparkle.

The “round brilliant” cut with 58 facets is the most dazzling shape among all diamond cuts. This cut also retains a maximum size of the memorial diamond.

That’s why the round brilliant cut is recommended by our experts as the final cut when making diamonds out of ashes.




Carat Size

Diamond size is measured in carat. One carat is further divided into 100 points.

As size increases, the price of a diamond increases sharply. A 1 carat diamond has 3 to 5 times the value of a half-carat diamond in today’s market.

Different from on-stock mined diamonds, the exact size of a memorial diamond cannot be pre-determined. The given creation time frame dictates a size range, but the final size may vary individually. This is the reason why when we turn ashes into diamonds we price them by carat range rather than exact size.

0.05 Ct.

5 Points

2.4 mm

0.15 Ct

15 Points

3.4 mm

0.25 Ct

25 Points

4.1 mm

0.50 Ct.

50 Points

5.0 mm

*For Reference only. True diamond size may vary based on monitor size. Please visit GIA 4Cs Diamond Carat Weight for more information regarding diamond size.